TOR’Q at Eko Hotel and Suites: How CAR DRIFTING Keeps YOU Winning

Originally Published On:

   

Written by:

Vrooom-oOo-oOh… pa-tack! Tack! Litty weekend, I must say again at The Fearless Showdown. Loud revs, white puffs, and fair vixens.

Oh my, that aura at Carpark B, Eko Hotels & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos was erratic on this particular sabbath. 

Time on the clock? 6:37 p.m. and TOR’Q auto show had started properly. 

Like this Post? Kindly PIN for Later 📌

I’d seen a skilled lady drift a 1990s Mercedes-Benz E-Class (probably W210) and the doughnuts were eccentric, daring even. 

On the adjacent side of the park, expensive motorcycles lined up with hot chicks striking a pose or riding in the passenger’s saddle. I turned up early, reaching the venue in the early afternoon after an hour-plus voyage from Lagos Mainland. 

To be honest, it took a bit of legwork tho.

I got in through the Eko Hotel & Suites pedestrian entrance leading to the arts and crafts store – big mistake! It was a long walk from the secured gate to the spacious parking lot. With excitement, I headed to the spot with a bottle of Fearless Energy Drink in my grasp, after a helpful staff of the hotel corrected me. 

Enjoy Side Attractions in this TOR’Q slideshow


Same November 26, 2023, Basketmouth, a prolific Nigerian comedian act and LOL: Last One Laughing Naija headliner, had an Unprovoked show at Eko Convention Center! It sold out what local comic aficionados would expect. It was a shutdown by dusk.

Back to motorsports affairs, the kickoff was displaced with guests queuing at the commandeered entrance. It took a couple of minutes, BMW turnovers, and the ushers let us in with a simple black wristband.

Wanna know the first thing I did inside?

Oh well, I scouted the venue.

There was a food vendor corner, drifting barricade, VIP booth, well-lit stage, ATV circuit, video gaming center, several photo props, and a slot for hot wheels for days.

Omah Lay’s ‘Ye’ was playing loudly in the background and I began to admire BMWs and other creative set-ups. “She say I keep it spinning like that Lekki roundabout.”

A band with violins and strings backed up the DJ. Carpark B, Eko Hotel was electric on that day, simply put.

The early birds

As the cars and motorbikes continued to accentuate the location, pilots ensured they made loud revs! Few came in sirens, while others did burnouts, that is, stationary spinning of wheels before hitting the curb.

I felt ALIVE! And the hypeman did a good job with announcements and chants.

But it wasn’t all jubilee, unfortunately. 

A professional photographer took my photo. He worked with the energy beverage brand and a few days later, my pictures were sent. I had to scan a QR code after the shot

I witnessed a femme in a non-fatal accident after choosing to ride behind a guy in the makeshift ATV circuit. This didn’t end well. He revved and the four-wheeler growled above the curtailment, damaging lined-up motorcycles in the process. 

Ah, like I said. Non-fatal, even for the seductive machines.

Since there was an Incident Response team on the ground, the injured lady was swiftly evacuated and treated. An ambulance was also not too far off.

Very thoughtful if you ask me.

It didn’t take time to rearrange the scene and the panicky crowd dispersed.

Back to the FUN, music continued to serenade Carpark B of Eko Hotel & Suites, live from the Band and playlisted Afrobeats songs from the Disk Jockey. 

It was getting late – 7:00 p.m.-ish and food vendors got busy with sales and plates. Many petrolheads gravitated to the chips and chicken, I wonder why.

At the center attraction – Drift Arena, the two main drifters came out to play. One in a Mercedes-Benz E-Class and the other in a BMW 3 Series. I preferred the BMW. 

With the German engineering duel, the driver of the BMW seemed to have better control of his car, plus he didn’t hit a cone or tire. Furthermore, the driver totally burnt out a wheel, leaving shards of orange sparks as he accelerated still.

@ericotrips

Raise Am! Raise Am!!! Times at TOR’Q: The Fearless Showdown #carsoftiktok #driftking #lagosnigeria

♬ original sound – Desto🥷💫🤍

After the demonstration, both came up to the excited audience for high-fives.

And you know what? I personally thought I’d seen the BEST of the high-octane event until the motorbikers took the central stage.

You May Like: Chasing Bikes to Signature Beyond Art Gallery: A Dauda Mohammed Exhibit

The riders did their rear wheel burnouts, wheelies (front and back), close calls, and circling, and I admired the strength of a rider who stood next to his motorbike, held the handlebars and accelerated for a burnout effect.

How to tame a motorcycle. Photo Cred: @YorubaBoy__ on X

White loud smoke everywhere and this man managed to keep his grasp firm!

Hype?

Musicians Brymo and 9ice also blessed the crowd with stage performances much later, but I was already on my way to Lagos Mainland. 

Leaving Eko

Since it was a soft prelude to the anticipated 2023 Xmas season, Zenith Bank PLC decorated the entire length of Ajose Adeogun Street and Eko Hotel Roundabout with lights and charms, an unmissable sight. It was something to look at while waiting for the danfo to fill up beforehand.

’twas the most wonderful time of the year

I closed out with a tasty meal of catfish pepper soup, reflecting on the actual array of events Fearless Energy Drink pulled off at the international 5-star hotel’s car park.

In a trance, I thought of the car lineups, risky wheelies, video games, photo props, and ear-ringing doughnuts.

Anticipating a sequel to this explosive adrenaline-pumper, I said to myself as I gulped the soup, I will be there no matter what!

13 responses to “TOR’Q at Eko Hotel and Suites: How CAR DRIFTING Keeps YOU Winning”

  1. Who knew motorcycles and alcohol could go well together? – ERICOTRIPS – Afriqaa

    […] hear thunderous revs. Besides attention-seeking bikers, it’s also fantastic that core members drifting car companies came to support […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Hello World,
I’m Eromonsele.
Thank YOU for Reading!

Go Beyond, Click Within

ERICOTRIPS

The Nigerian Travel Blogger | The Nigerian Customer-Centric Blogger | The Nigerian Afrocentric Blogger | Museums and Art Galleries in Nigeria | Art Gallery Reviews, Art Exhibition Reviews, et cetera

Hi, I’m Eromonsele Emmanuel Oigiagbe. I love exploring and writing about Nigeria and getting lost in arts, culture and Afrocentric discoveries.

This blog is where I write about travel and tourism, and I hope it gives you some inspiration to go and have your own adventures.


JOIN THE CONVERSATION!

Support this blog today

Help us make more blog posts on ERICOTRIPS. By making a contribution, we can create stories that matter.

Discover more from ERICOTRIPS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started