How I Lost Two Chances to See Rele Art Gallery

Originally Published On:

   

Written by:

Bloganuary writing prompt
Name an attraction or town close to home that you still haven’t got around to visiting.

Rele Art Gallery is a contemporary art space in Lagos, Nigeria. For the longest time it has been a great grooming ground for local artists – hosting trainings, exhibitions, and “housemanship” for spurring Nigerian and international talented creatives.

Now, how does this concern me in particular?

Thing is, for some reason, this artsy atmosphere has been evasive from my reach. It’s only few kilometers away in Lagos Island and I did make attempts!

First, in 2020, I decided to mark my January birthday by taking an ambitious task of touring seven (birthday is January 7 btw) art galleries around Onikan and Ikoyi neighborhoods in Lagos.

At the time of this journey with my friend, Rele Art Gallery was perched at Onikan, a little distance from Omolayo Art Gallery which I also visited on the same trip. However, arriving at Rele Gallery, there was some private viewing ongoing and we were unable to gain access inside.

We rounded off by taking photos.

Second shot?

In the last quarter of 2023, I decided again to visit the Onikan location for Rele Art Gallery – Military Street, Onikan to be specific, but, this time they moved altogether.

Nothing was present on-site!

After confirmation of the news on their new Ikoyi art hub, I look forward to exploring Rele Gallery now perched at 32d, Thompson Avenue, Ikoyi, Lagos. And I will, even if it feels evasive.

Hey, if you discovered me through this prompt, I am keen on finding art galleries in my locality and writing about them. I like to critique ambiance, art collections, as well as other convergences that are easy to miss.

I encourage you to explore more of my artsy narratives.

If you love art galleries, is there one close to home that you still haven’t got around to visiting as well? Mention in the comments!

Originally Published on Wednesday, January 24, 2024

6 responses to “How I Lost Two Chances to See Rele Art Gallery”

  1. Kucia Kodes Avatar
    Kucia Kodes

    hey Eromonsele,

    cool blog 🙂 will give it a follow and a like!

    Like

    1. Eromonsele Emmanuel Oigiagbe Avatar
      Eromonsele Emmanuel Oigiagbe

      Thank you, Kucia

      Like

  2. Rochelle | Adventuresfromelle Avatar
    Rochelle | Adventuresfromelle

    Man, I can just imagine your disappointment of not being able to see this gallery after 2 attempts. However, hopefully third time will be the charm!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eromonsele Emmanuel Oigiagbe Avatar
      Eromonsele Emmanuel Oigiagbe

      Yes, I’m really hoping on that third shot at Rele, Rochelle. So close yet so far. Whew

      Liked by 1 person

  3. AndysWorldJourneys Avatar
    AndysWorldJourneys

    some things are just not meant to be…. but you will keep showcasing art galleries in Lagos I am sure and doing a great job at that! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eromonsele Emmanuel Oigiagbe Avatar
      Eromonsele Emmanuel Oigiagbe

      Absolutely champ!

      Like

Leave a comment

Hello World,
I’m Eromonsele.
Thank YOU for Reading!

Go Beyond, Click Within

ERICOTRIPS

The Nigerian Travel Blogger | The Nigerian Customer-Centric Blogger | The Nigerian Afrocentric Blogger | Museums and Art Galleries in Nigeria | Art Gallery Reviews, Art Exhibition Reviews, et cetera

Hi, I’m Eromonsele Emmanuel Oigiagbe. I love exploring and writing about Nigeria and getting lost in arts, culture and Afrocentric discoveries.

This blog is where I write about travel and tourism, and I hope it gives you some inspiration to go and have your own adventures.


JOIN THE CONVERSATION!

Support this blog today

Help us make more blog posts on ERICOTRIPS. By making a contribution, we can create stories that matter.

Discover more from ERICOTRIPS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started